Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili

Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale ChiliIt is that time again.  I needed to do a freezer build up because this weekend I am out the whole time helping my mom at a craft fair; she is selling her amazing handmade quilted aprons and baby quilts. She is the sewer at She & Me Designs on Etsy, and she is giving a county craft fair a try and wanted help.  So here is my awesome freezer build up of Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili.

So this isn’t just another chili.  Pumpkin chili…what?  I was a little nervous adding pumpkin to my chili.  As you know I am not adventurous, and the last time I used pumpkin in a recipe it turned out really good, but still I was nervous.  Nervous ruining something that I love, or adding a flavor that didn’t work.  But, again I am pleasantly surprised with myself and my “daring”.

Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili

m

m

m

m

The pumpkin added an amazing thickness to the chili that I don’t normally get when I make it.  Normally it is a little soup like, but this turned out super thick.  Also, I could not detect a pumpkin flavor, but there was an added depth of something there.  Something really, really good!  I used thyme along with my chili powder, cumin and pepper and it was a very rich yet deep flavor.

Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili

m

m

m

m

This chili has that long cooking flavor also.  I poured in the tomato sauce and immediately turned the heat on high, then dumped all the spices and pumpkin in.  After it came to a boil I turned it down to simmer and dumped everything else in.  It simmered for 2 1/2 hours before I dumped the large bunch of kale in.  The kale adds a nice boost of vitamins and another surprising ingredient to the chili.

Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale ChiliPumpkin Kale Chili, 10 servings

1 C Dried Pinto Beans
1/2 C Dried Black Beans
1 Bag Dried 18 Beans
2 Cans Tomato Sauce
1 Container Pacific Foods Low Sodium Vegetable Stock
1 Can Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin
1/2 Large Onion
1 Pkg Whole Mushrooms, washed and chopped small
1 Red Bell Pepper, washed and chopped small
3 Medium Carrots, washed and chopped small
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 Tbsp Cumin
1 Tbsp Black Pepper
2 Tsp Thyme
1 Tsp Paprika
1 Bunch Kale, washed and chopped

Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili1.  Soak beans in large pot over night.  Be sure to fill pot to three inches above beans.
2.  Rinse beans and pick through taking out skins or bad beans.  Pour beans into large pot.
3.  Add all ingredients except kale.
4.  Bring to a boil them turn to lowest setting for 2 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.
5.  Add kale 30 minutes before done.  Stir throughout.
6.  Portion out and enjoy!!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Fall Pumpkin Kale Chili

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins

  2. Pingback: Favorite Recipes & Ideas for Pumpkin Fever!!

Leave a comment